All Blues related videos and songs that are exploring the edges of the genre are encouraged to submit.

Original songs, and full songs will be accepted. All other applicants are welcome to submit but original materials will be taken into consideration primarily.

It’s recommended for the submitted videos to be under 5min. Videos that are over 10min will NOT be accepted.

Sapphire has one single category and both live performance and staged production/interpretive videos will be accepted for the competition.

Short documentaries or EPK’s will NOT be accepted.

Videos with good qualities and full production will be primarily considered but all applicants are encouraged to submit as well as videos that are shot by a phone.

All videos should be submitted by the Artist/Band. If submitting as a Director, the applicant should prove consent of the Artist/Band.

Qualifying Period

There will be NO TIMELINE for the first year of the Sapphire Award. Deadlines will be set for the inaugural year.

Canadian Definition

The award will accept Canadian submissions only. The artist or artists must be Canadian citizens or Canadian landed immigrants. For duo or groups, at least 50% of members must qualify as Canadian. Proof of Canadian status includes:

a) Valid Canadian passport.

b) Canadian citizenship papers.

c) Canadian Birth Certificate.

d) Landed immigrant status via a Canadian Permanent Resident Card.

The Jury

The volunteer jury will select the winner depending on the designated criteria. A jury member can’t be professionally or otherwise representing an artist, or has a personal relationship with an artist or artists. Lack of disclosure of a conflict of interest will result in the loss of voting privileges.

Sapphire Award Winner

The Sapphire Award winner will be announced at the Maple Blues Awards taking place on Monday, February 3rd at Koerner Hall. The award will be presented to both the Artist/Band and the Director of the winning video.

The winning artist or group will receive a cash prize of $1,500 (CAD). Each of the two runners up will receive $250 (CAD).


The Deadline for submissions is Friday, January 10, 2020 at midnight.

Please email the following information to

Your Title:
Artist/Band Name:
First Name:
Last Name:
Phone Number:
Title of Video/Song:
Production Credits:
Video Link:

*By sending a submission you are agreeing to the terms and conditions outlined here.

Authorized Master Rights Owners:  It is the submitter’s express responsibility to ensure that any video clips or other audio and/or visual materials contained in the video are fully authorized by master rights owners, and any other third parties that have rights in such materials. The Sapphire Award reserves the right to require written confirmation that these rights have been secured. The Sapphire Award reserves the right to disqualify submissions, should The Sapphire Award determine, in its sole discretion, that these rights have not been secured.

Non-Exclusive License: By sending your video submission you acknowledge that you have the authority to send it to us and to agree to these Terms and Conditions. You grant The Sapphire Award a no-charge, non-exclusive license to use the video and to permit the download and or stream of the submission by The Sapphire Award to the judging panel for the purposes of reviewing and judging your submission.

Disqualification: The Sapphire Award will have the right to disqualify the submission if The Sapphire Award, in its sole, absolute and unfettered discretion decides that any act, omission, conduct, association or statement of the submitter, or any allegation made by a third party regarding any act, omission, conduct association or statement of the Submitter does or might reflect unfavourably upon or adversely affect the goodwill, reputation or value of the Submitter or the Sapphire Award or contravenes any of The Sapphire Award policies, its partners or their respective affiliates.

Claims: The Sapphire Award will not be responsible for any claims, liabilities or cost arising from lost, damaged copied or stolen submission materials arising from any cause, including negligence of The Sapphire Award and/or any third party acting on behalf of The Sapphire Award. You hereby waive, and hereby release The Sapphire Award and all third parties acting on behalf of The Sapphire Award from any and all claims you may have in connection with any of the foregoing.